Rigging the forestay

Technical discussion of ARC products
ultrarunner
Professional

Rigging the forestay

Post by ultrarunner »

I just about have the SC 17 together. Raised the mast last night and attempted to put the jib up.

However, as I pulled the rope down the jib did not go far enough to the top. The cable end was still a foot or so up in the jib.

I'm not sure I have things mounted correctly up at the mast.

I included a couple of pictures. This is my first time rigging a SuperCat.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
efinley
Professional

Post by efinley »

You have the furler swivel mounted below the sheave for the halyard, you should turn it around so that the swivel connects to the mast with the sheave below that. Otherwise when you furl the jib it would twist the halyard around the swivel. It will also make the cable come further down inside the jib. Typically you need a short pigtail that goes from the end of the cable down to the chain plate to tie off the halyard.

-Eric
SC20 #113
ultrarunner
Professional

Post by ultrarunner »

Ahh...ok. I just got off the phone with Aquarius and they're sending me the pigtail.

But the same can be accomplished by swapping my swivel? Do you have a picture of that arrangement?

thanks
efinley
Professional

Post by efinley »

well you need both the pig tail and to turn the swivel/sheave around. Once you do both things it should work much better.
Matt Haberman
Administrator

Post by Matt Haberman »

I found a couple of photos that might be useful. The one of the jib halyard turning block don't show the roller furling swivel, but it would go on the left between the pigtail and the halyard turning block.
The other photograph of the hounds is the typical setup, and don't forget to use safety wire so the shackle pin doesn't come out.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Matt Haberman
Aquarius Sail Inc.
http://www.aquarius-sail.com